Faculty of Social Work

About Us

Our faculty members maintain close working relationships with voluntary agencies, government departments, community groups, and national and international research groups / networks in order to contribute to informed social policy and human service developments.

First Nations / Aboriginal communities in Canada, particularly in Saskatchewan, are important and essential communities to which the Faculty of Social Work responds. As educators, we work closely with the Indigenous Social Work at the First Nations University of Canada, and Aboriginal content is present in all of our courses, both undergraduate and graduate.  Most of our courses provide students with the option of completing assignments on Aboriginal issues as they can research, present and write on topics relating to Aboriginal concerns.

In our educational programs, research and community involvement, our emphasis is on the promotion of diversity, social justice and empowerment.

Land Acknowledgment

The University of Regina is situated on Treaty 4 lands with a presence in Treaty 6. These are the territories of the nêhiyawak, Anihšināpēk, Dakota, Lakota, and Nakoda, and the homeland of the Métis/Michif Nation. Today, these lands continue to be the shared Territory of many diverse peoples from near and far. The Faculty works closely with our colleagues at First Nations University of Canada and continues to reach learners and collaborate with partners who are located in communities situated in Treaty territories 4, 6, and 10, the traditional territories of the Cree, Saulteaux, Nakota, Lakota, Dakota, Dene, Gwich’in, Tlicho, and Sahto Nations, and the historical homelands of the Métis people.


The founding of the School of Social Work in 1971 and the offering of a regular program of studies in 1972-73 was preceded by more than a decade of concern and planning within the university and the social work community.

The importance of research was recognized with the development of the Social Administration Research Unit in 1972 (now called the Social Policy Research Centre) which works closely with government and non-government organizations and community groups to undertake research relevant to issues in Saskatchewan and Canada.

In 1974 the School of Social Work and the Federation of Saskatchewan Indians jointly developed the Indigenous Social Work Programme which is taught through the School of Indigenous Social Work, First Nations University of Canada at its Saskatoon Campus.

The Master of Social Work program was added in 1985 to meet the Province's need for on-going professional social work education.

Mission Statement

The social work program of education, research and community service is designed to prepare students for critical generalist social work practice with diverse peoples. Informed by the principles of indigenization, sustainability and social justice, the social work program encourages students to identify the needs of the disadvantaged, marginalized and oppressed. It supports students in developing the commitment, knowledge, values, attitudes, and skills required to confront structural inequalities, and to empower individuals, families, and communities to realize their full potential.

Strategic Plan

In this 5-year plan, we focus on strengthening our provincial reach, exploring the development of innovative experiential learning opportunities, enhancing our teaching and research, and achieving a healthy, inclusive and welcoming work environment.

2021-2025 Strategic Plan

 Strategic Research Plan

Faculty and Staff Directories


Faculty of Social Work Leadership
Cathy Rocke Dean 306-585-4119 ED 444.1
Darlene Chalmers Associate Dean - Undergraduate 306-664-7379 CO 111.10
Gabriela Novotna Associate Dean - Research & Graduate 306-585-4237 ED 461
Jonathan Calfat Faculty Administrator 306-585-4118 ED 456


Please see this link for a directory of Social Work faculty and staff members.