Faculty

Julia Siemer

Acting Department Head; Associate Professor; BGISc program coordinator
Dr. rer. nat. (Potsdam)

Office: CL 340.1
E-mail: Julia.Siemer@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4405

Current classes
Fall 2022 - GES 203

Research interests

  • Analysis and mapping of food accessibility
  • Population cartography
  • Thematic cartography
  • Visualization in geographic information systems

Louis Awanyo

Professor (Luther College)
PhD (Queen's)

Office: Luther College 224
E-mail: Louis.Awanyo@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5042
Website: https://www.luthercollege.edu/university/academics/faculty-profiles/louis-awanyo

Current classes
Fall 2022 - GES 100-L01; GES 316-L01

Research interests

  • Development geography
  • Africa
  • Political ecology
  • Agrobiodiversity and agrodiversity
  • Geopolitics
  • Geography of housing
  • Geography of tourism
  • Ecotourism

Mark Cote

Instructor III
MSc (Regina)

Office: CL 325.2
E-mail: Mark.Cote@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4879

Current classes
Fall 2022 - GES 121; GES 218; GES 321

Research interests

  • Atmospheric science (meteorology and climatology)
  • Solar radiation
  • Environmental science

Emily Eaton

Professor
PhD (Toronto)

Office: CL 340.2
E-mail: Emily.Eaton@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4034
Pronoun(s): She/her
Website: http://www.saskoil.org/

Current classes
On Sabbatical (July 1, 2022 - June 30, 2023)

Research interests

  • Fossil fuels
  • Just energy transitions
  • Natural resource economies
  • Political ecology and economy

Ulrike Hardenbicker

Associate Professor; Coordinator, Environmental Studies Program
PhD (Bonn)

Office: CL 325.1
E-mail: Ulrike.Hardenbicker@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4679

Current classes
Fall 2022 - GES 323; GES 329/GEOL 329

Research interests

  • Badland erosion
  • Slope stability
  • Geomorphic hazards
  • Land degradation

Ana Karinna Hidalgo

Sessional Lecturer
PhD (Calgary)

E-mail: Ana.Hidalgo@uregina.ca

Current classes
Fall 2022: GES 100-397

Research interests

  • Urban planning
  • Urban design
  • Winter cities
  • Mental health
  • Experimental methods

Samantha Kerr

Sessional lecturer
PhD (Regina)

E-mail: Samantha.Kerr@uregina.ca
Pronoun(s): she/her

Current classes
Fall 2022 - GES 309-001

Research interests

  • Paleoclimatology
  • Paleo-proxies
  • Hydroclimatic variability
  • Environmental modelling
  • Geographic information systems

Vanessa Mathews

Associate Professor
PhD (Toronto)

Office: CL 339
E-mail: Vanessa.Mathews@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5329

Current classes
Fall 2022 - GES 120; GES 246

Research interests

  • Craft beer
  • Building reuse
  • Heritage
  • Urban space
  • Urban planning
  • Gentrification
  • Embodied practice

David Sauchyn

Professor; Director, Prairie Adaptation Research Collaborative
PhD (Waterloo)

Office: Second floor - 2 Research Drive, PARC (Prairie Adaptation Research Collaborative)
E-mail: David.Sauchyn@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-2299

Current classes
Fall 2022 - GES 121-397

Research interests

  • Hydroclimate of the past millennium
  • response of watersheds to climate variability and change
  • translation of climate change science for adaption decision making.