Faculty

John Barden

Associate Professor

Office: CK 164.22
E-mail: john.barden@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4629
Fax: 306-585-4854

Research interests
Dr. Barden’s general research interests include the biomechanics and motor control of human movement, particularly with respect to stroke mechanics in competitive swimming, shoulder instability, gait analysis and the neural control of reaching movements.

Paul Bruno

Assistant Professor

Office: CK 164.21
E-mail: paul.bruno@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-3343
Fax: 306-585-4354

Research interests
Motor control impairments of the lumbopelvic region; kinematic profiles and muscle activation patterns; association between test findings and measures of spinal stiffness and spinal stability.

Darren Candow

Associate Professor
Associate Dean (Graduate Studies and Research)

Office: CK 173
E-mail: darren.candow@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4906
Fax: 306-585-4854

Research interests
Exercise Physiology, Sport Nutrition, Musculoskeletal Health, Aging/Athletic Performance.

Doug Cripps

Office: CK 173.3
E-mail: khs.ug-assocdean@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4925
Fax: 306-585-4854
Website: http://www.uregina.ca/kinesiology/deans-office/associate-dean-undergraduate.html

Research interests
Professor Cripps is the Associate Dean (Undergraduate) for the Faculty of Kinesiology and Health Studies.

Barclay Dahlstrom

Instructor

Office: CK 164.8
E-mail: barclay.dahlstrom@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4912
Fax: 306-585-4854

Current classes
KIN 260, KIN 267, KIN 269, KIN 350, KIN 355, KIN 450

James Daschuk

Associate Professor

Office: CK 164.4
E-mail: james.daschuk@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-3272
Fax: 306-585-4854

Research interests
My research focus is on the impact of environmental change on the health of indigenous people. My historical work investigates the role of disease, changes to subsistence practices and climate change in the historical development of western Canada. My current research projects include the impact of introduced species, horses and domestic cattle, on the well-being of First Nations.

Kim Dorsch

Professor

Office: CK 164.12
E-mail: kim.dorsch@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4742
Fax: 306-585-4854

Research interests
Sport psychology; health psychology; athletic performance; officiating performance; group dynamics in sport

Rebecca Genoe

Associate Professor

Office: CK 164.3
E-mail: rebecca.genoe@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4781
Fax: 306-585-4854

Research interests
My research interests lie in the area of leisure and aging. More specifically, I am interested in better understanding the role of leisure in the lives of older adults living with dementia or a chronic illness. Taking a qualitative approach, I explore how older adults use leisure to cope with illness as well as the impact that chronic illness has on their leisure and their identities.

Katya Herman

Assistant Professor

Office: CK 164.11
E-mail: katya.herman@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-3187
Fax: 306-585-4854
Website: http://www2.uregina.ca/khs/pa-epi-lab/

Current classes
KIN 170 (Lifestyle, Health & Wellness), KIN 278 (Intro. Health Promotion), KIN 381AA (Intro Epidemiology); KHS 871 (Epidemiology)

Research interests
Physical activity, sendentary behaviour and obesity epidemiology.

Larena Hoeber

Associate Professor

Office: CK 164.10
E-mail: larena.hoeber@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4363
Fax: 306-585-4854

Research interests
My research agenda is based on the use of organizational theory (e.g., organizational culture, strategic decision making, innovation, power) to understand and critique the functioning of amateur sport organizations. My primary research interests are in the areas of organizational culture and values. I have focused on diversity-related issues in sport organizations, including gender equity in university athletics and Aboriginal volunteers. I approach much of my research from critical feminist perspectives, with the aim of identifying and rectifying unequal power relations that perpetuate societal inequities.

Shanthi Johnson

Professor

Office: CK 164.17
E-mail: shanthi.johnson@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-3180
Fax: 306-585-4854

Research interests
Her research program involves health promotion and falls prevention among older adults with a multidisciplinary perspective. In general, her research is community engaged as well as program and policy relevant. Specifically, she has been examining the role of nutrition and exercise interventions in improving functional capacity and preventing falls in seniors in community and long-term care settings. Her research interest also extends to the cross-cultural study of aging, health beliefs and practices related to chronic diseases such as osteoporosis. While aging and health has been the main focus of her research, she has espoused a life course perspective and has worked with several age groups and she has been involved in research in the areas of population health, rural health, health services research, and global health.

Roz Kelsey

Instructor

Office: CK 164.1
E-mail: roz.kelsey@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-2553
Fax: 306-585-4854

Current classes
SRS 110, SRS 105, SRS 220, SRS 465, KIN 420

Cory Kulczycki

Assistant Professor

Office: CK 164.5
E-mail: cory.kulczycki@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4841
Fax: 306-585-4854

Research interests
Place meaning and place attachment as experienced through recreation and sport; and the behaviours and motivations of participants and spectators at small-scale sport tourism events.

June LeDrew

Professor

Office: CK 164.19
E-mail: june.ledrew@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4842
Fax: 306-585-4854

Research interests
June LeDrew is a Professor in the Faculty of Kinesiology and Health Studies. She teaches and researches in the areas of children’s health and physical literacy and a variety of other health-related topics.

David Malloy

Professor
Vice-President (Research)

E-mail: david.malloy@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5184
Fax: 306-585-4854
Website: http://uregina.ca/malloyd/

Research interests
Influence of religion, ethics, and culture on leadership and administration in health, government, and sport contexts.

Patrick Neary

Professor

Office: CK 164.23
E-mail: patrick.neary@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4844
Fax: 306-585-4854

Research interests

Integrative Exercise Physiology Central (cerebral) and Peripheral (muscle) Fatigue Cardiovascular Function and Ballistocardiography Pathophysiology of Concussion

Links of interest:

UK Rugby Health Project 

Harold Riemer

Professor
Dean

Office: CK 173.4
E-mail: khs.dean@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4535
Fax: 306-585-4854

Research interests
Athletic Leadership (i.e., Coaching) Individual and Group Satisfaction, Human Performance and Group Dynamics.

Brenda Rossow-Kimball

Assistant Professor

Office: CK 164.6
E-mail: brenda.rossow-kimball@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4918
Fax: 306-585-4854

Research interests
Leisure experiences of persons with intellectual disabilities Retirement experiences of older adults with intellectual disabilities

Brandy West-McMaster

Instructor

Office: CK 164.14
E-mail: brandy.west-mcmaster@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-3146
Fax: 306-585-4854

Current classes
KHS 139, KHS 182, KHS 233

Staff

Andrew Hamilton

Communications Coordinator

Office: CK 164.18
E-mail: andrew.hamilton@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-2913

Bevin Thompson

Dean's Assistant

Office: CK 173
E-mail: kinesiology@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4360

Braden Konschuh

Sports Information

Office: CK 170.1
E-mail: braden.konschuh@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5199

Chris Wermie

Assistant Facilities Coordinator

Office: 170.7
E-mail: chris.wermie@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4929

Dan McGee

Coach (Wrestling)

Office: CK 222.1
E-mail: dan.mcgee@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4702

Dave Taylor

Coach (Women's Basketball)

Office: CK 135
E-mail: dave.taylor@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4068

Erica Hoiland

Asstistant Athletic Therapist/Instructor I

E-mail: erica.hoiland@uregina.ca

Gabor Jerkovits

Manager, Aquatics Centre

Office: CK 141
E-mail: gabor.jerkovits@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4365

Heather Wickenheiser

Academic Program Advisor

Office: CK 173
E-mail: heather.wickenheiser@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4914

Janet Walbaum

Supervisor (Recreation and Athletics Services)

Office: CK 170.8
E-mail: janet.walbaum@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-2552

Jennifer Love Green

Academic Program Coordinator

Office: CK 173
E-mail: jennifer.love@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4843

Jill Fulton

Administrative Support

Office: CK 170.3
E-mail: jill.fulton@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4018

John Papandreos

Coordinator, Recreation Services

Office: CK 170.6
E-mail: john.papandreos@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5007

Keisha Bell

Recreation and Athletic Services

Office: CK 170
Phone: 306-585-4371

Leo McGee

Coach (Wrestling)

Office: CK 134
E-mail: leo.mcgee@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4067

Malanie Sanford

Administrative Assistant

Office: CK 164.25
E-mail: melanie.sanford@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4751

Mark McConkey

Rams Offensive Coordinator/Academic Resource Coach

E-mail: mark.mcconkey@uregina.ca

Megan Jalbert

Athletics Coordinator - Scholarships & Eligibility

E-mail: Megan.Jalbert@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4797

Paula Krasiun-Winsel

Recreation and Athletic Services

Office: CK 170
Phone: 306-585-4371

Rhoda Ferner

Student Records/ Convocation/ Scholarships

Office: CK 173
E-mail: rhoda.ferner@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5005

Robert Maltman

Coach (Soccer)

Office: CK 141.1
E-mail: robert.matlman@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5006

Sarah Hodges

Coach (Women's Hockey)

Office: CK 133.1
E-mail: sarah.hodges@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5629

Shirley Plessl

Financial Records

Office: CK 173
E-mail: shirley.plessl@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4374

Tanya Reynoldson

Interim Athletic Director

Office: CK 170.5
E-mail: tanya.reynoldson@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4926

Todd Johnson

Coach (Men's Hockey)

Office: CK 137
E-mail: todd.johnson@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5010

Wade Huber

Head Coach - Track & Field/Cross Country

E-mail: wade.huber@uregina.ca