New names revealed for campus buildings

Posted: July 29, 2015 12:00 p.m.

Kīšik Towers, the newest and tallest building on campus which will be a residence and daycare facility.
Kīšik Towers, the newest and tallest building on campus which will be a residence and daycare facility. Photo: External Relations, U of R

Living on campus is a great way to get the most out of the University of Regina experience. It offers students independence, convenience and the opportunity to develop life-long relationships in a vibrant, diverse environment. In addition, the residences consist of smaller communities within the University as a whole, providing residents with a strong sense of belonging.

That sense of belonging is going to be even stronger this year, because names have now been selected for some of the newer residences on campus – and two employees in particular deserve special mention for their contributions.

To coincide with the continuing construction of the soon-to-open 606-bed residence and daycare facility, a few months ago the University asked faculty, staff, students, alumni and community members to participate in a contest to name the new building as well as the existing North and South Residence buildings.  

Among the many submissions, Braden Konschuh, Sports Information Officer in the Faculty of Kinesiology and Health Studies, suggested that Saskatchewan and prairie themes be incorporated into the names. Based on Braden’s input, and using translations provided by Dr. Arok Wolvengrey of First Nations University of Canada and some of his colleagues, the Residence Naming Committee recommended names that will contribute to the Indigenization of the University in keeping with the 2015-2020 strategic plan, peyak aski kikawinaw.

The new residence and daycare building will be called Kīšik Towers (pronounced KEE-zhick ), coming from the Saulteaux language, meaning “sky,” as it is the tallest building on campus.

The existing North Residence building will be known as Paskwāw Tower (pronounced pus- KWOW), the word for “prairie” in the Cree language.  

The South Residence will be called Wakpā Tower (pronounced wak-pa), coming from the Dakota word for “river.”  

All three symbols – sky, prairie and river – are on the Treaty 4 flag.  The Cree and Dakota names for the former North and South Residence buildings reflect the fact that the Cree language originated north of the Dakota language.  

“It is my hope that as we use our new building names, Kīšik Towers, Wakpā Tower and Paskwāw Tower will become part of our common vocabulary and serve as a reminder that our University is situated on Treaty 4 and Treaty 6 territories,” said University of Regina President and Vice-Chancellor Dr. Vianne Timmons. “I encourage everyone to begin using these names as you communicate with your colleagues, our students, and members of the larger community.”

To learn more about the University of Regina’s residences, visit: