Faculty Listing

Sarah Abbott

Film Department
Associate Professor - On Leave

Office: ED 239.8
E-mail: sarah.abbott@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4437
Website: http://www.sarahabbott.ca

Research interests
Experiences of being, the environment, Indigenous cultures and issues, nonhuman intelligence, human rights, ethics, community engagement, ethnographic inquiry, Indigenous Research methodology.

Kathryn Bracht

Theatre Department
Associate Professor

Office: RC 274
E-mail: kathryn.bracht@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5590

Research interests
Acting and directing for theatre and film; new play development; devised theatre; physical theatre.

Rebecca Caines

Faculty of Media, Art, and Performance (Creative Technologies)
Associate Professor

Office: RC 154
E-mail: rebecca.caines@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5520

Research interests
Performance studies, creative technologies, community-based practices, new media, sound art, improvisation, site-specific art, cultural studies, augmentation.

Ian Campbell

Film Department
Lab Instructor

Office: ED 239.3
E-mail: ian.campbell@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5313

Research interests
Digital Filmmaking and Visual Effects; VJ culture and Live Improvised Visuals; Kinetic Sculpture and 3D printing.

Ruth Chambers

Visual Arts Department
Professor

Office: RC 247.1
E-mail: ruth.chambers@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5575

Research interests
Ceramics, Installation, Contemporary Craft Theory

David Dick

Music Department
Assistant Professor

Office: RC 256.2
E-mail: david.dick@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5546

Research interests
Performance practice for brass instruments in the late Renaissance and early Baroque periods.

Sherry Farrell-Racette

Visual Arts Department
Associate Professor

Office: RC 250
E-mail: Sherry.Farrell-Racette@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5515
Fax: 306-585-5526

Research interests
First Nations and Métis history and art history, Indigenous knowledge and pedagogy, contemporary Indigenous art, photography, film, collections-based research in museums and curatorial practices, First Nations and Métis traditional arts, issues of representation and self-representation, feminist, Indigenous and creative research methodologies.

Francesco Freddolini

Art History - Luther
Associate Professor

Office: LC 114
E-mail: francesco.freddolini@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-206-2100

Research interests
History of sculpture, the history of collecting and displaying art, the relations between art, rituals and identity in court societies.

David Garneau

Visual Arts Department
Professor

Office: RC 245
E-mail: david.garneau@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5615

Research interests

Painting, contemporary Aboriginal art (Canada and Australia); critical art writing, curation.

Brent Ghiglione

Music Department, Department Head
Associate Professor, Director of Bands

Office: RC 256.4
E-mail: brent.ghiglione@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5542

Research interests
Wind Band repertoire, Conducting, Trumpet performance practices.

Dominic Gregorio

Music Department
Associate Professor, Director of Choral Activities - On Sabbatical

Office: RC 256.8
E-mail: dominic.gregorio@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5538

Leanne Groeneveld

Theatre - Campion
Assistant Professor

Office: CM 313
E-mail: Leanne.Groeneveld@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-359-1222
Website: http://campioncollege.ca/contact-us/faculty-listing/dr-leanne-groeneveld

Research interests
Late medieval theatre production; late medieval and early modern religious drama; medieval aesthetics; medieval Passion drama; late medieval and early modern representations of Christ's body; Canadian, American, and UK representations of/responses to the Oberammergau Passion Play (1850-1950); modern Passion drama.

William Hales

Theatre Department, Department Head
Instructor

Office: RC 180.1
E-mail: william.hales@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5568

Research interests
Lighting Design, Set Design and Video Projection Design, Theatre Technology (past and present), Theatre Ergonomics, and Theatre Creation for Close Audiences

Risa Horowitz

Visual Arts Department
Associate Professor

Office: RC 047
E-mail: risa.horowitz@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5641
Website: http://www.risahorowitz.com

Research interests

photo- and time-based media; conceptual, and durational practices; practice-based research.

Kathleen Irwin

Associate Dean, Graduate & Research
Theatre Department, Professor

Office: RC 180
E-mail: kathleen.irwin@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5519

Research interests
Site-specific practice, community-engaged art, web-based performance, identity, and mobility/stasis in performance.

Charity Marsh

Faculty of Media, Art, and Performance (Creative Technologies), Professor
Canada Research Chair: Interactive Media and Popular Music

Office: RC 049
E-mail: charity.marsh@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-2623

Research interests
Indigenous Hip Hop Cultures; Popular Music in Canada; Electronic Dance Music Cultures; Interactive Media and Performance; Technology and Gender; Arts and Athleticism; Arts-Based Community Health

Philippe Mather

Film - Campion
Associate Professor

Office: CM 502
E-mail: Philippe.Mather@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-359-1229

Research interests
Orientalism in Film, Film Music, Theories of Genre and Authorship, Stanley Kubrick, Science-Fiction.

Wes Pearce

Associate Dean, Interdisciplinary Programs and Special Projects
Theatre Department, Professor

Office: RC 270
E-mail: wes.pearce@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5571

Research interests
Contemporary Canadian Theatre Design, Scenography in Sharon Pollock’s plays, Intersections of theatre, homophobia and queerness, musical theatre

Alain Perron

Music Department
Associate Professor

Office: RC 256.3
E-mail: alain.perron@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5201

Research interests
Music composition (instrumental/vocal); Orchestration and Instrumentation; Electronic and Electroacoustic music; Conducting (symphonic orchestra/new music ensembles); Performance (oboe/English horn); Musical analysis 20th-21st century

Sheila Petty

Film Department
Professor

Office: ED239.9
E-mail: sheila.petty@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4188
Website: http://uregina.ca/~pettyss/

Helen Pridmore

Music Department
Associate Professor

Office: RC 256.9
E-mail: helen.pridmore@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5540
Website: http://www.helenpridmore.ca

Research interests
Vocal Performance; New Scored Music and Experimental Music, especially by Canadian composers;Improvisation; Extended Vocal Techniques; Interdisciplinary Studies and Projects

Christine Ramsay

Film Department
Professor

Office: ED 239.5
E-mail: christine.ramsay@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4210

Research interests
Canadian and Saskatchewan cinemas; masculinities in contemporary cultures; curatorial studies in expanded cinema; culture of small cities; philosophies of identity.

Barbara Reul

Music - Luther
Professor

Office: LC 204
E-mail: barbara.reul@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5019

Research interests
Early music, especially early 18th-century German court music; J. F. Fasch and his contemporaries; archival research; women and music; organ music.

Randal Rogers

Faculty of Media, Art, and Performance (Creative Technologies)
Associate Professor

Office: RC 273
E-mail: randal.rogers@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4746

Research interests
Research interests: visual cultures of forensics; spies and sexualities; biopolitics; flight/crash/simulation; universal expositions

Michael Rollo

Film Department
Assistant Professor

Office: ED 239.2
E-mail: mike.rollo@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4569
Website: http://mrollo.com

Research interests

Documentary and experimental cinema; darkroom photography; creative sound practice; curation; expanded cinema; film collectives; artist-run labs.

Gerald Saul

Film Department, Department Head
Associate Professor

Office: ED 243.1
E-mail: gerald.saul@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4619
Website: http://www.geraldsaul.com

Research interests
Experimental film, hand-processed and cameraless filmmaking, animation, alternative narrative and storytelling, and pinhole photography.

Megan Smith

Faculty of Media, Art, and Performance (Creative Technologies)
Associate Professor

Office: RC 157
E-mail: Megan.Smith@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5554
Website: http://www.megansmith.ca

Research interests
New media, geo-location, storytelling, creative technologies, community-based practices, site-specific art, curation, DIY & maker culture, pop-up festival culture.

Rae Staseson

Dean
Professor

Office: RC269.1
E-mail: MAP.Dean@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5510
Fax: 306-585-5544

Brian Stockton

Film Department
Instructor

Office: ED 239.10
E-mail: brian.stockton@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4785

Christina Stojanova

Film Department
Associate Professor

Office: ED 239.7
E-mail: christina.stojanova@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5690

Research interests
Political, social, and aesthetic aspects of (post) communist cinemas, cinema of Québec, interwar German cinema; Narrative, hybridity, and Intermediality in the digital age; Ludwig Wittgenstein; Freudian, Lacanian, and (Neo) Jungian analytical psychology

Leesa Streifler

Visual Arts Department
Professor

Office: RC 244
E-mail: leesa.streifler@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5529
Website: https://www.leesastreifler.com/

Research interests

Two Dimensional Representation; Painting and Drawing techniques and methodologies; Figuration and Expressionism, Anatomy, Contemporary Art and Feminist practice; The Body with respect to self-image, agency, and marginalization; Mothering; Women and Aging; Life Stages; Grieving and Loss; Interspecies Communication.

Robert Truszkowski

Visual Arts Department, Department Head
Associate Professor

Office: RC 247.2
E-mail: robert.truszkowski@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5574
Website: http://www.truszkowski.org

Research interests
(Conceptual) Popular culture; text, language, and communication; rap music; religion (Technical) Expanded colour and resolution possibilities in studio Printmaking (particularly in Ultra-violet cured (UV) silkscreen); digital print applications; lower and non-toxic approaches to studio printmaking

Sean Whalley

Associate Dean, Undergraduate
Visual Arts Department, Assistant Professor

Office: RC 158
E-mail: sean.whalley@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5581

Mark Wihak

Film Department
Associate Professor

Office: ED 239.6
E-mail: mark.wihak@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-2233

Research interests
Alternative approaches to fiction filmmaking; documentary filmmaking; forms of storytelling.