Returning to campus: Information, updates and vaccination requirements. Learn more.

Faculty Listing

Sarah Abbott

Film Department
Associate Professor

Office: ED 239.8
E-mail: sarah.abbott@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4437
Website: http://www.sarahabbott.ca

Research interests
Environment, climate crisis; human and nonhuman knowing and rights; trees; ethics; experiences of being; ethnographic inquiry; community engagement; Indigenous methodologies, cultures, and knowledge systems; decolonization.

Taiwo Afolabi

Theatre Department
Assistant Professor

Office: RC 180
E-mail: taiwo.afolabi@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5519
Website: www.taiwoafolabi.com

Research interests
Applied theatre, community engagement, theatre and policing, research ethics, arts leadership, and African cinema.

Kathryn Bracht

Theatre Department, Department Head
Associate Professor

Office: RC 274
E-mail: kathryn.bracht@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5590

Research interests
Physical theatre, ethnographic theatre, solo performance, devising, new play development, acting and directing.

Ian Campbell

Film Department
Lab Instructor

Office: ED 239.3
E-mail: ian.campbell@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5313

Research interests
Digital Filmmaking and Visual Effects; VJ culture and Live Improvised Visuals; Kinetic Sculpture and 3D printing.

Ruth Chambers

Visual Arts Department, Graduate Program Representative - on sabbatical- July 1 to December 31, 2021
Professor

Office: RC 149
E-mail: ruth.chambers@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5575

Research interests
Ceramics, Installation, Contemporary Craft Theory

David Dick

Music Department, Department Head
Assistant Professor

Office: RC 256.8
E-mail: david.dick@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5546

Research interests
Jazz, brass performance practice, and music theory.

Katherine Dowling

Music Department
Assistant Professor

Office: RC 256.1
E-mail: katherine.dowling@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5502

Research interests
Performance, collaborative piano, chamber music, piano literature, piano pedagogy

Sherry Farrell-Racette

Visual Arts Department
Associate Professor

Office: RC 250
E-mail: Sherry.Farrell-Racette@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5515
Fax: 306-585-5526

Research interests
First Nations and Métis history and art history, Indigenous knowledge and pedagogy, contemporary Indigenous art, photography, film, collections-based research in museums and curatorial practices, First Nations and Métis traditional arts, issues of representation and self-representation, feminist, Indigenous and creative research methodologies.

Holly Fay

Visual Arts Department
Assistant Professor

Office: RC 246
E-mail: holly.fay@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5591
Website: https://www.hollyfay.com

Research interests

Painting and Drawing techniques and methodologies, biotic and abiotic ecological systems, correlations and interconnectedness of natural phenomenon, nonhuman agency, phenomenology, environment, representations of the nature world in two-dimensional art practices.

Lindsey French

Visual Arts Department
Assistant Professor

Office: RC 154
E-mail: lindsey.french@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5554
Website: https://lindseyfrench.com/

Research interests

Landscape, environment, ecology; multisensory and multi-species signaling and perception; plant-being and plant signaling; communications technologies; receptivity and reception technologies; radio and airborne communication media; atmosphere and climate; olfactory art; acoustic ecology; media studies.

Area(s) of Specialization Creative Technologies, Visual Arts

David Garneau

Visual Arts Department - Acting Department Head - July 1 to December 31, 2021
Professor

Office: RC 245
E-mail: david.garneau@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5615

Research interests

I am interested in all forms of contemporary art; creative expressions of contemporary Indigenous identities; Indigenous museum displays, and public art.

Brent Ghiglione

Music Department
Associate Professor, Director of Bands

Office: RC 256.4
E-mail: brent.ghiglione@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5542

Research interests
Wind Band repertoire, Conducting, Trumpet performance practices.

Leanne Groeneveld

Theatre - Campion
Assistant Professor

Office: CM 313
E-mail: Leanne.Groeneveld@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-359-1222
Website: http://campioncollege.ca/contact-us/faculty-listing/dr-leanne-groeneveld

Research interests
Late medieval theatre production; late medieval and early modern religious drama; medieval aesthetics; medieval Passion drama; late medieval and early modern representations of Christ's body; Canadian, American, and UK representations of/responses to the Oberammergau Passion Play (1850-1950); modern Passion drama.

William Hales

Theatre Department
Instructor

Office: RC 180.1
E-mail: william.hales@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5568

Research interests
Stage Management and Technical Direction, Lighting Design, Computer Control Systems for Technical Theatre, Designing New Theatre Spaces

Shannon Holmes

Theatre Department
Assistant Professor

Office: RC 272
E-mail: shannon.holmes@uregina.ca
Phone: (306)337-2400

Research interests

Voice, Speech, Singing, Extended Vocal Techniques, Acting, Devised-Theatre, Cross-disciplinary Processes, Interdisciplinary Studies, Embodiment, Somatics, Autoethnography

Dr. Risa Horowitz

Visual Arts Department, Department Head - on sabbatical July 1 to December 31, 2021
Associate Professor

Office: RC 247.2/RC 047
E-mail: risa.horowitz@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5641
Website: http://www.risahorowitz.com

Research interests

Photo and lens-based media; conceptual, performance, and durational practices; time and its representation; art & science; critical landscape theories; creative writing; the relationships between expert-amateur, hobby-work, leisure-productivity.

Christopher MacRae

Music Department
Lecturer

Office: RC 256.12
E-mail: chris.macrae@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5536
Pronoun(s): he, his
Website: www.ChrisMacRaeVoiceStudio.com

Current classes
Applied Voice, Opera Workshop

Research interests
Vocal Technique, Portrayal of National Identity in Art Song, Acting Techniques for young singers

Charity Marsh

Faculty of Media, Art, and Performance (Creative Technologies)
Associate Professor

Office: RC 033
E-mail: charity.marsh@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-2623

Research interests
Indigenous Hip Hop Cultures; Popular Music in Canada; Electronic Dance Music Cultures; Interactive Media and Performance; Technology and Gender; Arts and Athleticism; Arts-Based Community Health

Philippe Mather

Film - Campion
Associate Professor

Office: CM 502
E-mail: Philippe.Mather@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-359-1229

Research interests
Orientalism in Film, Film Music, Theories of Genre and Authorship, Stanley Kubrick, Science-Fiction.

Karla McManus

Visual Arts Department
Assistant Professor

Office: RC 232
E-mail: karla.mcmanus@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-2227
Website: https://www.karlamcmanus.com

Research interests
Contemporary art and the environment, the history and theory of photography, Canadian art history, settler-colonial art history, eco-critical art history, eco-media studies, environmental history, animal studies, documentary media.

Melissa Morgan

Music Department
Assistant Professor

Office: RC 256.9
E-mail: melissa.morgan@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5538
Website: www.classicmel.ca

Research interests

Choral Conducting, Prairie Choral Art Music, Dalcroze Eurhythmics, Diction, Choral Gesture, Movement and Choral Singing

Area of Specialization: Choral Conducting

Wes Pearce

Theatre Department
Professor

Office: RC 270
E-mail: wes.pearce@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5571

Research interests
Scenography and domestic spaces in Sharon Pollock’s plays; the Intersections of Scenography, Dramaturgy and Composition in Musical Theatre;  Shakespeare Festivals and Tourism; Queer Gothic and the plays of Michel Marc Bouchard

Alain Perron

Music Department
Associate Professor

Office: RC 256.3
E-mail: alain.perron@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5201

Research interests
Music composition (instrumental/vocal); Orchestration and Instrumentation; Electronic and Electroacoustic music; Conducting (symphonic orchestra/new music ensembles); Performance (oboe/English horn); Musical analysis 20th-21st century

Sheila Petty

Film Department
Professor

Office: ED239.12
E-mail: sheila.petty@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4188

Christine Ramsay

Associate Dean, Graduate & Research
Film Department, Professor

Office: ED 239.5
E-mail: christine.ramsay@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4210

Research interests
Canadian and Saskatchewan cinemas; masculinities in contemporary cultures; curatorial studies in expanded cinema; culture of small cities; philosophies of identity.

Barbara Reul

Music - Luther
Professor

Office: LC 204
E-mail: barbara.reul@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5019

Research interests
Early music, especially early 18th-century German court music; J. F. Fasch and his contemporaries; archival research; women and music; organ music.

Michael Rollo

Film Department, Department Head
Associate Professor

Office: ED 243.1
E-mail: mike.rollo@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4569/4948
Website: http://mrollo.com

Research interests
Documentary and material cinema; darkroom photography; film curation; expanded cinema; film collectives; artist-run labs.

September Russell

Music Department
Lecturer

E-mail: september.russell@uregina.ca

Gerald Saul

Film Department
Professor

Office: ED 239.11
E-mail: gerald.saul@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4619
Website: http://www.geraldsaul.com

Research interests
Experimental film, hand-processed and cameraless filmmaking, animation, alternative narrative and storytelling, and pinhole photography.

Rae Staseson

Dean
Professor

Office: RC269.1
E-mail: MAP.Dean@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5510
Fax: 306-585-5544

Brian Stockton

Film Department
Associate Professor

Office: ED 239.2
E-mail: brian.stockton@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4785

Christina Stojanova

Film Department
Professor

Office: ED 239.7
E-mail: christina.stojanova@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5690

Research interests
Political, social, and aesthetic aspects of (post) communist cinemas, cinema of Québec, interwar German cinema; Narrative, hybridity and Intermediality in the digital age; Ludwig Wittgenstein; Freudian, Lacanian, and (Neo) Jungian analytical psychology.

Larissa Tiggelers

Visual Arts Department
Assistant Professor

Office: RC 244
E-mail: larissa.tiggelers@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5529
Website: http://www.larissatiggelers.com

Research interests

Area(s) of Specialization: professional practices, abstract painting and drawing, feminist methodologies, advanced colour theory

 

Tiggelers’ research is primarily focused in abstract painting and drawing, with occasional explorations in installation and sculpture. She teaches in the painting and drawing area where she embraces process-driven methodologies and material exploration alongside conceptual development.

Robert Truszkowski

Visual Arts Department & Acting Graduate Program Representative (July 1 to December 31, 2021)
Professor

Office: RC 035.3
E-mail: robert.truszkowski@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5574
Website: Instagram: @professortruszkowski

Research interests

(Conceptual) Popular culture; text, language, and communication; rap music; religion (Technical) Expanded colour and resolution possibilities in studio Printmaking (particularly in Ultra-violet cured (UV) silkscreen); digital print applications; lower and non-toxic approaches to studio printmaking.

Sean Whalley

Associate Dean, Undergraduate
Visual Arts Department, Assistant Professor

Office: RC 158
E-mail: sean.whalley@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5581

Mark Wihak

Film Department
Associate Professor

Office: ED 239.6
E-mail: mark.wihak@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-337-2233

Research interests
Alternative approaches to fiction filmmaking; documentary filmmaking; forms of storytelling.