Returning to campus: Information, updates and vaccination requirements. Learn more.



In June 2008, the Ministry of Advanced Education, Employment and Labour (AEEL) received the report, Nursing Education Strategy for Saskatchewan, on future education to prepare registered nurses. The report recommended a two-provider model for registered nursing education in Saskatchewan, in place of the existing single-provider model called Nursing Education Program of Saskatchewan (NEPS).

The NEPS had been offered through a University of Saskatchewan, First Nations University of Canada and SIAST partnership; however, the University of Saskatchewan previously had signaled its preference for independently offering undergraduate nursing education using a different delivery model.


In February 2009, the Ministry announced its support for the report's recommendations and plans to increase baccalaureate nursing seats from 512 to 700 to meet the future staffing needs of health care facilities in Saskatchewan. Also announced was a new collaborative partnership between the University of Regina and SIAST to engage in the delivery of baccalaureate nursing education. Each of the two providers-- the U of R/SIAST collaboration and the U of S--was assigned 350 seats.

Because the University of Regina has never delivered nursing education, engaging in the partnership with SIAST required the creation of a Faculty of Nursing. On June 3, 2009, the University of Regina Senate recommended to the University of Regina Board of Governors that a Faculty of Nursing be created. The Board supported this development.

A decision was made to appoint an acting Dean of the Faculty of Nursing who would sit on a project team that also had membership from the administrative level of the Nursing Division at SIAST. In addition, in order to commence necessary work on curriculum development, two curriculum coordinators were hired, one by SIAST and one by the University of Regina. Their responsibility is to work with experienced faculty members from SIAST, with ad hoc involvement from others when certain content expertise or instructional design advice is needed.


The baccalaureate degree in nursing is to be awarded by the University of Regina. Consequently, the curriculum for the new program must comply with the university's academic standards. It was approved by the Senate of the University of Regina on June 9, 2010.


As required by Saskatchewan legislation, every new or revised nursing education program must be approved by the Saskatchewan Registered Nurses' Association (CRNA), the professional regulatory body for nursing. The CRNA granted preliminary approval of the SCBScN program in February 2011. This is the highest level of approval possible for new nursing education programs.