Phased return to in-person learning begins February 7. Learn More.

Faculty Listing

Kevin Bond

Associate Professor, Department Head
PhD (McMaster University)

Office: CL 259
E-mail: kevin.bond@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4335

Current classes
Winter 2022 - RLST 201-001

Research interests
Early Modern Religion in Japan: The Cult of Fudō Myōō, Popular Religion and Theatre, Humour and Parody

Brenda Anderson

Associate Professor, Luther College and Department of Gender, Religion, and Critical Studies
PhD (University of Regina)

Office: Luther College 214
E-mail: brenda.anderson@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5170

Current classes
Winter 2022 - WGST 206-L01, WGST 300-L01

Research interests
Women in religion, specifically: feminist theories and practices in interreligious dialogue; feminist, post-colonial studies; women in Islam, Christianity, and Hinduism; mythic biographies and performative autobiographies

Leona Anderson

Professor Emeritus, Sessional Lecturer
PhD (McMaster University)

E-mail: leona.anderson@uregina.ca

Current classes
Winter 2022 - RLST 268-397

Research interests
Sanskrit, Religion in India, Cuba, and China, Ritual and Iconography, Gender, Popular Culture

William Arnal

Professor
PhD (University of Toronto)

Office: CL 256
E-mail: william.arnal@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5680

Current classes
Winter 2022 - RLST 201-001

Research interests
New Testament, Gnosticism, Ancient Religions, Ancient Magic, and Method and Theory

Jill Arnott

Sessional Lecturer III
MA (University of Regina)

E-mail: Jill.Arnott@uregina.ca

Current classes
Winter 2022 - WGST 100-001, WGST 201-397

Ian Phillip Brown

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

E-mail: Ian.Brown@uregina.ca
Pronoun(s): he/him

Current classes
Winter 2022 - RLST 352-991

Research interests

Early Christianity, Graeco-Roman Education, Wisdom in Second Temple Judaism, Religion in Popular Culture, Method and Theory

Claire Carter

Associate Professor
PhD (York University)

Office: CL 328
E-mail: Claire.Carter@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4668

Current classes
Winter 2022 - WGST 100-305/306/307/323/324

Research interests

The relationship between movement/exercise and the embodiment of gender within the changing dynamics of queer and trans communities in Canada. Queer theory and trans studies; feminist and social justice methodologies; community engagement; movement and identity.

Kyuhoon Cho

Assistant Professor
PhD (University of Ottawa)

E-mail: kyuhoon.cho@uregina.ca

Current classes
Winter 2022 - RLST 100-001, RLST 290BC-001

Research interests

Asian Religions; Globalization, Religion, and the Secular; Sociology of Religion; Religious diversity and Popular Culture

Michelle Folk

Sessional Lecturer - Luther College
PhD (Concordia University)

E-mail: michelle.folk@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5128
Website: https://campioncollege.ca/resources/dr-michelle-folk/

Current classes
Winter 2022 - RLST 100-C01, RLST 100-L01

Troni Y. Grande

Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies (Faculty of Arts), Associate Member (Gender, Religion and Critical Studies), Adjunct Professor and Associate Professor (Department of English)
PhD (University of Alberta), BA, BA Honours, MA (Queen's University)

Office: CL 436.2
E-mail: Troni.Grande@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4570
Pronoun(s): she/her

Research interests
Creative nonfiction, Shakespeare and early-modern drama, adaptations of Shakespeare, 18th-century drama (she-tragedy), literary theory (especially feminism), genre studies, editing.

FranzVolker Greifenhagen

Professor
PhD (Duke University)

Office: CL 219
E-mail: franzvolker.greifenhagen@uregina.ca
Phone: (306) 206-2109

Current classes
Winter 2022 - RLST 290BB-L01, RLST 341-L01

Research interests
Comparative scriptures and scriptural systems, the emergence of distinctly North American forms of Islam and the modes of exegesis associated with them, ideologies of identity in the Hebrew bible.

Cindy Hanson

Adjunct Professor, Professor (Department of Sociology and Social Studies)
PhD (University of BC), MAED (St. Francis Xavier), BEd (University of Saskatchewan)

Office: CL 209
E-mail: cindy.hanson@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-381-8631
Fax: 306-585-4815

Research interests
Gender, feminism and intersectionality. Social movements. Indigenous rights. International development. Community-and arts-based research. Participatory methodologies.

Sami Helewa

Associate Professor, Campion College
President, Campion College

Office: CM 404
E-mail: sami.helewa@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-359-1217
Website: https://campioncollege.ca/resources/dr-sami-helewa/

Darlene Juschka

Associate Professor
PhD (University of Toronto), MA (Wilfrid Laurier University, BA (University of Waterloo)

Office: CL 324
E-mail: darlene.juschka@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5280
Fax: 306-585-4815

Current classes
Winter 2022 - RLST 373-397/WGST 372-397

Research interests
Feminist methods, theories, and epistemologies; popluar culture; globalization; feminist history; gender and sexuality studies (ancient and modern); approaches to the study of religion; symbol, myth, and ritual (ancient and modern); folk religions, shamanism, and possession; cross cultural study of religion, ancient Greek and Roman religions; ritual associated with death and burial (ancient and modern)

Charity Marsh

Professor in Creative Technologies and Interdisciplinary Programs; Director of Humanities Research Institute; Director of the Interactive Media and Performance (IMP) Labs
PhD, MA (York University), BA (University of Ottawa), BMUS (University of Ottawa)

Office: RC 033
E-mail: charity.marsh@uregina.ca
Pronoun(s): she/her
Website: https://www.charitymarsh.com/biography

Research interests
Indigenous Hip Hop Cultures; Popular Music in Canada; DJ Cultures; Electronic Dance Music Cultures; Interactive Media and Performance; Technology and Gender in Popular Music; Media Arts; Arts-Based Community Health

Patricia Miller-Schroeder

Instructor Emerita
MA (University of Calgary)

E-mail: Patricia.Miller-Schroeder@uregina.ca

Research interests
Women and the environment, women's reproduction and reproductive processes, motherhood, mothering and mothers, women as scientists and as subjects/objects of scientific research, women and human evolution.

Peggy Schmeiser

Adjunct Professor
PhD (University of Ottawa)

E-mail: peggy.schmeiser@usask.ca

Randal Rogers

Associate Professor
PhD (Concordia University)

E-mail: randal.rogers@uregina.ca

Research interests

Masculinity, queer, visual culture studies and the relationship between espionage and queer subjectivities in film and television.

Yuan Ren

Associate Professor
PhD (McMaster University)

Office: CL 256
E-mail: yuan.ren@uregina.ca

Research interests
Chinese and Indian Buddhism, Religious Syncretism in Asia, Texts in Asian Religions

Danette Starblanket

Sessional Lecturer

E-mail: danette.starblanket@uregina.ca

Current classes
Winter 2022 - WGST 280AH-001

Michelle Stewart

Associate Professor, Director of Regina Improvisation Studies Centre, Researcher, Saskatchewan Population Health and Evaluation Research Unit
PhD, MA, BA (University of California)

Office: CL 336
E-mail: michelle.stewart@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4873
Fax: 306-585-4815
Pronoun(s): she/they

Current classes
Winter 2022 - WGST 380AY-001, WGST 480AH-001

Research interests
Applied anthropology, disability justice, settler colonialism, forensic social sciences, science and technology studies, harm reduction, justice system.

Blair Stonechild

Adjunct Professor

Office: FNUniv 4013
E-mail: abstonechild@fnuniv.ca

Current classes
NDG 232: Indigenous Systems of Religion and Philosophy INDG 332: Indigenous Religions and Philosophy INDG 432: Native American Indigenous Religious Philosophies

Research interests
Principles and practices of Indigenous spirituality (primarily Cree and Saulteaux), virtues, disciplines and ceremonies, spirituality versus religion, concept of Indigenous Eden, and contemporary relevance.

Michelle Wagner

Sessional Lecturer - Campion College
MA (Queen's University)

E-mail: Michelle.Wagner@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-359-1233
Website: https://campioncollege.ca/resources/michelle-wagner/

Current classes
Winter 2022 - RLST 228-L98