Safely back on campus. Learn More.

Faculty Listing

Claire Carter

Associate Professor, Department Head
PhD (York University)

Office: CL 328
E-mail: Claire.Carter@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4668

Current classes
Fall 2022 - WGST 420-001, WGST 801-001

Research interests

  • Relationship between movement/exercise and the embodiment of gender within the changing dynamics of queer and trans communities in Canada
  • Queer theory and trans studies
  • Feminist and social justice methodologies
  • Community engagement
  • Movement and identity.

Brenda Anderson

Associate Professor (Luther College)
PhD (University of Regina)

Office: Luther College 214
E-mail: brenda.anderson@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5170

Current classes
Fall 2022 - RLST 275-L01, RLST 390AM-L01

Research interests

  • Women in religion
  • Feminist theories and practices in interreligious dialogue
  • Post-colonial studies
  • Women in Islam, Christianity, and Hinduism
  • Mythic biographies and performative autobiographies

Leona Anderson

Professor Emeritus; Sessional Lecturer
PhD (McMaster University)

E-mail: leona.anderson@uregina.ca

Current classes
Fall 2022 - RLST 268-397

Research interests

  • Sanskrit
  • Religion in India, Cuba, and China
  • Ritual and Iconography
  • Gender
  • Popular Culture

William Arnal

Professor
PhD (University of Toronto)

Office: CL 256
E-mail: william.arnal@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5680

Current classes
On Sabbatical July 1, 2022 to December 31, 2022

Research interests

  • New Testament
  • Gnosticism
  • Ancient Religions
  • Ancient Magic
  • Method and Theory

Jill Arnott

Sessional Lecturer III
MA (University of Regina)

E-mail: Jill.Arnott@uregina.ca

Current classes
Fall 2022 - WGST 100-001, WGST 100-0A1-0R7

Kevin Bond

Associate Professor
PhD; MA; BA (McMaster University)

Office: CL 259
E-mail: kevin.bond@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4335

Current classes
On Sabbatical July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2023

Research interests

  • Early Modern Religion in Japan
  • Cult of Fudō Myōō
  • Popular Religion and Theatre
  • Humour and Parody

Ian Phillip Brown

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

E-mail: Ian.Brown@uregina.ca
Pronoun(s): he/him

Current classes
Fall 2022 - RLST 100-001, RLST 352-991

Research interests

  • Early Christianity
  • Graeco-Roman Education
  • Wisdom in Second Temple Judaism
  • Religion in Popular Culture
  • Method and Theory

Kyuhoon Cho

Sessional
PhD (University of Ottawa)

E-mail: kyuhoon.cho@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4233

Current classes
Fall 2022 - RLST 100-0A1-0R7, RLST 207-001, RLST 363-001

Research interests

  • Asian Religions
  • Globalization, Religion, and the Secular
  • Sociology of Religion
  • Religious diversity and Popular Culture

Michelle Folk

Sessional Lecturer (Luther College)
PhD (Concordia University)

E-mail: michelle.folk@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-5128

Current classes
Fall 2022 - RLST 100-C01, RLST 100-L01, RLST 203-C01

Troni Y. Grande

Associate Professor, Department of English; Associate Dean (Research and Graduate)
PhD (University of Alberta), BA, BA Honours, MA (Queen's University)

Office: CL 436.2
E-mail: Troni.Grande@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4570
Pronoun(s): she/her

Research interests

  • Creative nonfiction
  • Shakespeare and early-modern drama
  • Adaptations of Shakespeare
  • 18th-century drama (she-tragedy)
  • Literary theory (especially feminism)
  • Genre studies
  • Editing

FranzVolker Greifenhagen

Professor (Luther College)
PhD (Duke University)

Office: CL 219
E-mail: franzvolker.greifenhagen@uregina.ca
Phone: (306) 206-2109

Research interests

  • Comparative scriptures and scriptural systems
  • Emergence of distinctly North American forms of Islam and the modes of exegesis associated with them
  • Ideologies of identity in the Hebrew bible

Cindy Hanson

Adjunct Professor, Department of Sociology and Social Studies
PhD (University of BC), MAED (St. Francis Xavier), BEd (University of Saskatchewan)

Office: CL 209
E-mail: cindy.hanson@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-381-8631
Fax: 306-585-4815

Research interests

  • Gender, feminism and intersectionality
  • Social movements
  • Indigenous rights
  • International development
  • Community-and arts-based research
  • Participatory methodologies.

Sami Helewa

Associate Professor; President (Campion College)

Office: CM 404
E-mail: sami.helewa@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-359-1217
Website: https://campioncollege.ca/resources/dr-sami-helewa/

Current classes
Fall 2022 - RLST 227-C01

Charity Marsh

Professor, Creative Technologies and Interdisciplinary Programs; Director, Humanities Research Institute; Director, Interactive Media and Performance Labs
PhD, MA (York University); BA (University of Ottawa); BMUS (University of Ottawa)

Office: RC 033
E-mail: charity.marsh@uregina.ca
Pronoun(s): she/her
Website: https://www.charitymarsh.com/biography

Research interests

  • Indigenous Hip Hop Cultures
  • Popular Music in Canada
  • DJ Cultures
  • Electronic Dance Music Cultures
  • Interactive Media and Performance
  • Technology and Gender in Popular Music
  • Media Arts
  • Arts-Based Community Health

Patricia Miller-Schroeder

Instructor Emerita
MA (University of Calgary)

E-mail: Patricia.Miller-Schroeder@uregina.ca

Research interests

  • Women and the environment
  • Women's reproduction and reproductive processes
  • Motherhood
  • Mothering and mothers
  • Women as scientists and as subjects/objects of scientific research, women and human evolution.

Peggy Schmeiser

Adjunct Professor, Johnson Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy
PhD (University of Ottawa)

E-mail: peggy.schmeiser@usask.ca

Randal Rogers

Associate Professor
PhD (Concordia University); MA (Concordia University); BA (University of British Columbia)

Office: CL 256.1
E-mail: randal.rogers@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4746

Current classes
Fall 2022 - WGST 280AP-001, WGST 380AZ-001

Research interests

  • Currently exploring relationship of queer subjectivities to espionage in film and television

Yuan Ren

Professor Emerita
PhD (McMaster University)

E-mail: yuan.ren@uregina.ca

Research interests

  • Chinese and Indian Buddhism
  • Religious Syncretism in Asia
  • Texts in Asian Religions

Danette Starblanket

Sessional Lecturer
PhD ABD (University of Saskatchewan), MA (University of Regina), BA Honours (First Nations University of Canada/University of Regina), BA Advanced (First Nations University of Canada/University of Regina)

E-mail: danette.starblanket@uregina.ca

Current classes
Fall 2022 - WGST 280AH-991

Research interests

  • Indigenous protest movements – Idle No More
  • Indigenous women and feminist theories and epistemologies
  • Indigenous gender and sexuality
  • Indigenous women and politics
  • Indigenous community engagement
  • Indigenous research methodologies
  • Treaty rights and Aboriginal rights
  • Indigenous health

Michelle Stewart

Associate Professor; Director, Regina Improvisation Studies Centre; Researcher, Saskatchewan Population Health and Evaluation Research Unit
PhD, MA, BA (University of California)

Office: CL 336
E-mail: michelle.stewart@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-585-4873
Fax: 306-585-4815
Pronoun(s): she/they

Current classes
Fall 2022 - WGST 202-001, WGST 204-001

Research interests

  • Applied anthropology
  • Disability justice
  • Settler colonialism
  • Forensic social sciences, science and technology studies
  • Harm reduction
  • Justice system

Blair Stonechild

Adjunct Professor

Office: First Nations University, RM 4013
E-mail: abstonechild@fnuniv.ca
Phone: 306-790-5950 ext. 3205

Current classes
NDG 232: Indigenous Systems of Religion and Philosophy INDG 332: Indigenous Religions and Philosophy INDG 432: Native American Indigenous Religious Philosophies

Research interests

  • Principles and practices of Indigenous spirituality (primarily Cree and Saulteaux)
  • Virtues
  • Disciplines and ceremonies
  • Spirituality versus religion
  • Concept of Indigenous Eden
  • Contemporary relevance

Michelle Wagner

Sessional Lecturer (Campion College)
MA (Queen's University)

E-mail: Michelle.Wagner@uregina.ca
Phone: 306-359-1233