Honorary degree recipients announced

By Natalie Tomczak Posted: June 2, 2015 6:00 a.m.

(l to r) Don Black, Ann Callahan and Kevin Vickers
(l to r) Don Black, Ann Callahan and Kevin Vickers .

Three exceptional individuals will receive honorary doctorate degrees at the University of Regina’s 41st Spring Convocation ceremonies, taking place June 3-5 at the Conexus Arts Centre.

All three recipients shared their thoughts on what it means to receive an honorary degree.

On June 3, Saskatchewan businessman and community leader Donald Wayne Black will receive an honorary Doctor of Laws degree.

“I’ve seen the U of R evolve from a satellite campus to a full-fledged university that makes significant contributions to the community. I am deeply touched to be recognized by my hometown university.”

On the second day of Convocation, June 4, former Parliamentary sergeant-at-arms and current Canadian Ambassador to Ireland Kevin Michael Vickers will be awarded an honorary Doctor of Laws degree.

"I am honoured to receive this degree from the University of Regina. Regina is where I trained to become a Mountie, so it feels like a bit of a homecoming. I'm grateful to be invited back to participate in Convocation."

On the third day of Convocation, Ann Blair Thomas Callahan, a Saskatchewan born educator, nurse and advocate for Aboriginal health, will receive an honorary Doctor of Laws degree.

“I accept this honour not for myself, but on behalf of all of the people who supported and guided me. I hope all the graduates will find their path to help and support others.”

Honorary degrees are the highest honour the University can bestow.

Previous recipients of University of Regina honorary degrees include:

- Avid athlete and community-builder Ted Jaleta.

-Prominent businessman and patron of the arts William (Bill) Shurniak.

-Professor Emeritus of English at the University of Regina Ken Mitchell.

-Regina-based performer, writer, director and communicator Jean Freeman.

-Singer/songwriter k.d. lang.

-Former Saskatchewan premiers Tommy Douglas, Allan Blakeney, and Roy Romanow.

-Former Saskatchewan Lieutenant Governors Sylvia Fedoruk and Lynda Haverstock.

-Hockey great Gordie Howe.

-Prime Minister Lester B. Pearson.

-The Princess Royal, Princess Anne and dozens of other outstanding researchers, writers, artists, philanthropists, humanitarians and leaders.

For information on convocation please visit here.

If you can't make it to convocation, the ceremonies are being live-streamed here.