The University announces 2015-16 Board of Governors

Posted: July 30, 2015 1:45 p.m.

University of Regina Board Chair, Daniel Kwochka.
University of Regina Board Chair, Daniel Kwochka. Photo: courtesy McKercher LLP

The University of Regina’s 2015-16 Board of Governors includes a new Board Chair, Daniel Kwochka and new Board Vice-Chair, Cathy Warner.

Kwochka has served as vice-chair of the Board for one term. Kwochka is a partner with the law firm of McKercher LLP and serves on its Executive Committee. He joined the firm in 1997 and has practised law in Regina since that time. He graduated with a bachelor of arts (advanced) from the University of Regina in 1993 and received a bachelor of laws (distinction) from the University of Saskatchewan in 1996. He articled with the firm of McKercher, McKercher and Whitmore in 1996 and has remained with the firm, now called McKercher LLP, since then as an associate and, later, as a partner. Kwochka holds a Professional Director designation from the Governor Development and Certification program offered by the Ministry of Advanced Education in conjunction with the Johnson-Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy and Brown Governance Inc.

Warner has served as chair of the Finance and Facilities Committee for two years. She has been with Deloitte for 27 years, and is the partner responsible for Deloitte’s practice in Regina and serves as the director of Audit and Assurance Services for Saskatchewan and Manitoba. She is responsible for the firm’s service levels to a number of key clients in the province and has led numerous initiatives with the firm. Warner obtained her bachelor of commerce with distinction in 1988 from the University of Saskatchewan. She received her chartered accountant designation and became a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Saskatchewan in 1990. In December 2010, she was awarded Fellow Chartered Accountant (FCA) designation. Warner also holds a Professional Director designation from the Governor Development and Certification program.  

Both Kwochka and Warner will serve in their respective roles through to July 31, 2016.

Also new to the board is Roger Brandvold, appointed in March 2015. Continuing on the Board are: ex-officio members Dr. Jim Tomkins, chancellor and Dr. Vianne Timmons, president and vice-chancellor; past-chair Lee Elliott, Dr. Mark Brigham, Elaine Bourassa, Pam Klein, Patrick Maze and Devon Peters.