Safely back on campus. Learn More.

FILR FAQ

What is the difference between online editing and “with Application”?

  • Online Editing – documents are edited in a dedicated server and the results displayed on your screen – you don’t even need to have Word/Excel etc. installed locally. It even allows simultaneous editing where you can see what others are typing. Other advantages are that there is no copy of the document downloaded to your PC so it is more secure and the lack of a download makes it faster to edit large documents. A downside is that the online editor does not support advanced features of Word/Excel/PowerPoint.
  • With Application – downloads the document to your PC and saves it back to FILR. You must have the application (Word/Excel/…) installed on your local machine.
  • You cannot mix the two modes! If some try to use online mode and some with the Application then conflicts will be reported and you will have to save multiple copies and merge them manually.  See next question regarding two or more people using with the Application simultaneously.

When I open a document for online editing it seems to partially open (or stalls at 0% loaded) but is mostly blank. What should I do?

  • Refreshing your web browser will usually fix this.

When I Open a Document For Online Editing, how do I save it?

  • It will auto-save periodically or when you close your browser tab. You can also click on the floppy disk save icon in the left side of the command bar at the top of the document.

What happens if two people are editing a file at the same time using applications (not online editing)?

  • The first person to save the document notices nothing, but the second person will get a warning that the file on the server is newer and gives you the option to replace to file with your version or save under a new filename.
  • If you ignore the message, the file gets a small red X on the icon to show that it is not in sync with the server, and you can select what you want to do in the Filr desktop client later.
  • The best way to avoid conflicts when multiple users are editing a file is to use the online editor.

What is the difference between an Editor and a Contributor?

  • Editor: Users can view and modify individual files shared with them, or all files within the folder shared with them.
  • Contributor: Users can create files in the folder, rename existing files, modify files, move files, and delete files inside the folder. Users cannot perform actions on the folder itself (applies when sharing folders only).

How long do I stay logged into the web interface for FILR before I need to re-login?

  • The timeout is 4 hours. If you are using online editing, please ensure changes are saved before the 4 hour timeout.

If I share a file/folder, then later remove the share; what happens to the copy on the computer of the users I have shared the file with?

  • The file/folder will be removed from the shared users computer automatically.
  • Note: There is nothing to prevent the user from making a separate copy of a share before you remove the share option.

Why can’t I share a folder in a Net Folder?

  • In the current Filr version, you can only share files from Net Folders, not complete folders; this prevents someone from accidentally sharing a whole Faculty/Department folder.

If I delete a file from my 'Home' folder, will it be removed from my I: drive?

  • Yes, the Home directory in Filr and your I: drive are the same. If you have 'Filr Desktop Client' installed, it will synchronize a local copy of your 'Home (I: drive)' to your computer.
  • Having 'Filr Desktop Client' installed on your computer allows for offline access, which will be synchronized back to the 'Home (I: drive)' when you have network access again.

In "My files" what is the difference between the 'Home' folder and personal storage?

Home: This is a link to your home directory files (usually mapped as I: drive). FILR can synchronize your I: drive, or a portion of it, for you to allow easy access on remote systems.

Personal Storage: Anything in My Files that isn't in your Home directory (I: drive).