MyBackup Quick Start Guide

Download & Install


The MyBackup software is available to U of R Employees on a network file server. To install it on your Windows 95 or 98 PC, click "Start", then "Run". Then type the name of the installer program as follows and click O.K.:

S:\DIST\WIN32\MYBACKUP\SETUP.EXE

Follow the instructions that the installer presents. It is recommended that you accept the default values presented by the installer (simply click OK when presented with a choice). This will install MyBackup into the "StartUp" program group, so that MyBackup will run every time your PC is booted.

Making a folder to store your backups


You can store your backups on a network file server. Start Windows Explorer and look for a network drive with your uregina.ca username on it, as in this example:

1

In the above example, user "Smith" has drive H: reserved for personal use on the network file server. Typically drive "H:" or "I:" will be your personal network disk.

You need to create a folder on this disk to hold your backup files. It is recommended that you create a folder that includes your username as part of the folder name. Here's how to create a folder using Windows Explorer:
  • Click on the icon for the network drive, so that it gets highlighted.
  • From the "File" menu in explorer, choose "New" and then "Folder".
  • A folder icon will appear on the right panel, and the text cursor will position itself to the folder name. Type the folder name (eg: "SmithsFiles") and hit the Enter key.

Running MyBackup for the First Time


The first time you run MyBackup, you tell the program where to find the files that are to be backed up, where to put them, and how often to do the backup. MyBackup will then proceed to copy all the files. It will then "go to sleep" until the next scheduled interval, at which time it will copy any files that are new or changed since the last backup.

To run MyBackup, click on Start, then "Programs", then "Startup", then "MyBackup"

In the window that appears, click "Configure". Fill in the folder to copy files from, and where to put them, as in this example:

2

You can type the names into the boxes, or you can press one of the "select" buttons to pick a disk and folder. You would pick the disk and folder from a list, as shown below:

34

After you have completed the configuration, the main "MyBackup" window will display the message "Backup in Progress", and all files will be backed up. The backup will include all files and subfolders within the "path to back up".

It is recommended that you keep all the documents, spreadsheets, etc., that you create in the "My Documents" folder on your PC or a sub-folder within "My Documents". There is not enough disk space reserved for you on your network drive to back up your entire PC, but there is usually plenty of space for your own files.

Once the first backup is complete, the MyBackup window will tell you when the next backup will occur:

If you wish to remove the message from your screen, click the minimize button ("[-]"). Do not close the program, because it must be running in order for the backups to occur:

5


If your PC breaks


If your PC breaks, call the help desk at 585-4685. While your PC is being fixed, you can borrow a PC and access your files from that PC. When you boot that PC, log on to Micro Focus OES using your own uregina.ca username and password. You will find all your backed-up files on the "H:" or "I:" drive where you left them.

Note: If you log on to Micro Focus OES using a borrowed PC, and if MyBackup is running on that PC, it is a good idea to close MyBackup so that it doesn't try to copy files from that PC to your network drive. (Unless that PC and your PC were configured to use identical folder names on the network drive, the copy would fail anyway. When the next scheduled backup arrived, MyBackup would display an error message and exit.)

Other things to know:


If you remove a file from a backed up folder on your hard drive, the corresponding backup copy will be kept for 7 days and then deleted.

If you wish to retrieve an older version of a file (from several days back), call the help desk. Copies of your backup files are available from backup tapes made nightly.



Note: Do NOT erase your backup files. MyBackup will not recopy files; it only copies new or changed files. If you want a complete new backup, create a new folder on your backup disk and tell MyBackup to use the new folder.

FOR MORE INFORMATION, REFER TO THE HELP MENU IN MYBACKUP